-
Advertorial
-
FOCUS
-
Guide
-
Lifestyle
-
Tech and Vogue
-
TechandScience
-
CHTF Special
-
Nanshan
-
Futian Today
-
Hit Bravo
-
Special Report
-
Junior Journalist Program
-
World Economy
-
Opinion
-
Diversions
-
Hotels
-
Movies
-
People
-
Person of the week
-
Weekend
-
Photo Highlights
-
Currency Focus
-
Kaleidoscope
-
Tech and Science
-
News Picks
-
Yes Teens
-
Budding Writers
-
Fun
-
Campus
-
Glamour
-
News
-
Digital Paper
-
Food drink
-
Majors_Forum
-
Speak Shenzhen
-
Shopping
-
Business_Markets
-
Restaurants
-
Travel
-
Investment
-
Hotels
-
Yearend Review
-
World
-
Sports
-
Entertainment
-
QINGDAO TODAY
-
In depth
-
Leisure Highlights
-
Markets
-
Business
-
Culture
-
China
-
Shenzhen
-
Important news
在线翻译:
szdaily -> Budding Writers -> 
Sixteen and licensed
    2015-09-23  08:53    Shenzhen Daily

    Laws and age restrictions in the United States tend to be pretty strict. However, while most teens in the world cannot legally learn to drive a car until they are adults, those living in the States can begin to learn how to drive at 16 years old.

    Sophomore year is full of classmates’ birthdays, and with classmates’ birthdays come permit tests! In Pennsylvania, as well as in many other states, a 16-year-old can go to the local Department of Motor Vehicles, or DMV, to get a learner’s permit.

    The DMV supplies packets containing a wealth of information that new drivers must learn before they hit the road; it covers all driving-related laws, the meanings of various road signs, advice for driving in wet or wintry conditions, instructions on how to make smooth turns, merge on the highway, and parallel park and more. After studying the learner’s manual, a 16-year-old armed with a doctor’s signature, legal identification and necessary forms can take the permit test. The permit test is a simple set of 18 questions about anything in the manual. Those who answer at least 15 questions correctly officially become eligible to receive a learner’s permit. This means that they may drive as long as a licensed adult over 21 years old in the passenger seat. After acquiring a learner’s permit, some teens choose to learn to drive with their parents while others sign up for professional lessons at a driving school.

    After six or more months have passed and a permit-holder has logged 65 hours of driving time, she is eligible to take the junior driver’s license tests. After passing the license test, during which the tester must drive and parallel park with a DMV official in the passenger seat, she may drive alone with certain restrictions. It’s an incredibly significant step toward adulthood and independence!

    During junior year, classmate after classmate will leave school early to take the license test. It’s an exciting time of year — finally, we no longer have to ask our parents for rides or take public transit to go out to dinner, attend concerts or spend time with friends. I become eligible to take my junior driver’s license test next month, which is both a thrilling and terrifying thought. Keep your fingers crossed — and your cars off the road!

    Merry Gu (辜子蕊)

    is a Grade 9 student who lives in Pennsylvania, the United States.

深圳报业集团版权所有, 未经授权禁止复制; Copyright 2010, All Rights Reserved.
Shenzhen Daily E-mail:szdaily@szszd.com.cn